The Star of Courage

The Star of Courage for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril;

On February 14 1975 the Star of Courage was established. It may be awarded to both civilians or military personnel only for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.

The Star of Courage is a silver seven-pointed star ensigned with the Crown of Saint Edward in silver and surmounted by the shield and crest of the Arms of the Commonwealth of Australia The Star is suspended from a ribbon by a bar inscribed "FOR COURAGE".

The blood-red ribbon is 32 millimetres wide and has a magenta central band 14 millimetres wide representing the colours of venous and arterial blood.

The Star of Courage ranks after the Cross of Valour but before the Medal of Bravery.

A number of awards of the Stars of Courage have been awarded. Most have been awarded to civilians but a number have been awarded to service personnel for incidents that occurred both on and off duty.

Some Star of Courage Citations

Last Updated 22 February, 2009